Prepare for your
Florida Learners Permit
In the state of Florida all new drivers are required to take the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse course. You may not apply for your learners permit until you are 15 years old, but the Florida DHSMV guidelines allow you to begin the drug and alcohol awareness course (TLSAE) at 14 years old.
Steps to Get Your Driving Permit
Step One: Take the necessary courses.
Whoever thought it was a good idea for first time drivers to go through the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse and Education deserves a pat on the back. Like the piano, learning the basics about driving while you're young makes you all the better at it in the future. Being 14 and aspiring to be a first time driver, there's no better place to start than learning the traffic laws and the effects of alcohol and other drugs on driving, so you may avoid trouble in the future. Lucky for you, you can take this online, at your own convenience! No need to schedule a beautiful Saturday to complete your required courses! You can take it when it works with your schedule!
Step Two: Study, study, study
Pick up a copy of the Florida DMV Handbook and study it. Get to know it well, for the 40 questions (20 for road signs, 20 for road rules) in the actual exam are picked from hundreds of questions. Plus, say, you fail on your first try, the next time you take the exam, you're going to get a different set of questions. New drivers are encouraged to take a DMV practice test (which can be done online too!) to avoid having to retake and repay the exam fee again.
Step Three: Ace the DMV exam
The DMV exam consists of the 40 question written test, a vision test and a hearing test. If you take the DMV written exam online, you'd bring your Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course completion certificate and your certificate for passing your written exam online. Then, you'll have to the DMV office to complete your vision/hearing test. Don't forget to bring the necessary documents including 2 forms of identification, your Social Security card and the Parent Concent Form. This form must be signed in the presence of a drivers license examiner or notarized if your parent or guardian isn't with you.
(Note: Starting February 7, 2007, you will need a parent or guardian to sign an affidavit at the driver license office verifying that you lawfully completed the exam online; if you are 18 or over, you will not be able to take the exam online.) Click here to see the affidavit.
What follows? As a first time driver, it is your imperative duty to hone your driving skills while keeping your record clean for the following year. Once you do that, you'd have no trouble transitioning from your learners license to a Florida driver's license holder. Good luck!
Lets get started!
Here at Florida MyLearnersPermit, we are glad that you are interested in taking our course. We can guarantee that if you successfully complete, and actively participate in our course that your first time driver will be ready to drive!
Authorized by Florida DMVRegister Now